![]() |
Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Printable Version +- Linux-Noob Forums (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums) +-- Forum: Linux Noob (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: How Do I? (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums/forum-60.html) +--- Thread: Need more disk space on / for yum to update? (/thread-419.html) |
Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Neil - 2010-10-21 Hi guys, Whenever I try and update the server using yum, I get an error something like: Code: Transaction Check Error: Now I fixed this before by removing old kernel's, but there are only 2 at the moment (the one in use and a new one - waiting for a good time to reboot!) Disk usage: Code: Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on Contents of / Code: ls / -al Is there a way I can give '/' more space safely? I'm not too sure I want to go delete stuff from there in case it has disastrous consequences... Cheers Neil Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Dungeon-Dave - 2010-10-22 ouch - no reason why your root filesystem should fill up like that! use the "du" command to see how big specific directories are, eg: Code: du -sh / or: Code: du -sh * when in a directory. You can ignore the /home and /var dirs - they're mounted on separate filesystems. As a matter of interest.. you don't (graphical) login as root and run everything as that user, do you? Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Neil - 2010-10-26 Quote:ouch - no reason why your root filesystem should fill up like that! It's a server, so no graphical logins at all. If it was /var I'd be laughing as I could just empty some apache log files, restart the daemon and bob's your uncle... Is there an easy way of getting yum to use a drive that does have free space on it? The / path is confusing me, as when I list the files on it, I see etc, var etc, but they're on their own filesystem. Interestingly, I've moved the yum cache dir to Code: /home/yum/cache which has plenty of space, and I still get errors! Code: Transaction Check Error: Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Dungeon-Dave - 2010-10-26 Quote:It's a server, so no graphical logins at all.Getting yum to use a different drive/partition is a matter of mounting something over /var/cache/yum, but as your /var is on another filesystem then that isn't the issue. Try "yum clean cache" or "yum clean all" to flush out the contents. Remember that yum simply installs files - it may be adding packages to /usr/bin - so there isn't a way of "getting yum to use a drive with free space", unless you're talking about the cache, which you addressed lower down. Quote:The / path is confusing me, as when I list the files on it, I see etc, var etc, but they're on their own filesystem."mount" will show you where mount points are for separate filesystems. It helps to think of "/" as one cooridoor with rooms leading off to other areas of the floor, except that /var leads to stairs up to another floor and /home = stairs leading down. "df" will report the sizes of those floors as well as the "/" floor, but it means content dropped into those filesytstems doesn't affect your current (root) floor. What did the "du" command show? Quote:Interestingly, I've moved the yum cache dir toThat's a bit like saying you've expanded the size of your warehouse, but your home is still too small to accept delivery of new goods. The cache area is just a holding area for yum to pull down packages before installing; the error moans about the size final destination, not about the cache area (which was in /var anyway, and had space to cope prior to the move). Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Neil - 2010-10-27 Thank you for the very clear and concise reply, much appreciated! I think I was getting hung-up on the error, assuming it was yum's cache at fault, not thinking of the possibility it could be a problem with the final install. I do have a slight problem (which is related to my confusion about the actual '/' path) - if I: Code: ls / then it looks like the root isn't a seperate filesystem, but simply the actual root where-from all other paths are under... For example, under a windows box you'd have C: and maybe D:, but C: root would be the root dir, then you'd have /windows under it etc - I'm probably way off here but hopefully that explains my confusion somewhat. So if I run a command like: Code: du -sh / I get reams and reams of output, as the command scans through everything, even my remote mounted backup drives! I can post the output here but I'm not sure how useful it would be. Not sure if it tells you anything but here's the diskfree stats: Code: Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on Ok, I think I might have found some old files which were just sat wasting space, I've deleted them and ended up with some disk space, and yum finished updating successfully! Code: Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on Thanks for your help, pointers, and for bearing with me! Need more disk space on / for yum to update? - Dungeon-Dave - 2010-10-27 Quote:For example, under a windows box you'd have C: and maybe D:, but C: root would be the root dir, then you'd have /windows under it etc - I'm probably way off here but hopefully that explains my confusion somewhat.It's more like "/" = "My Computer" and /var = D: drive, /home = E: drive. Windows has the ability now to mount a drive under a directory, so instead of D: you could call it C:\Documents. It looks like it's part of the C: drive (first disk) but it's a separate filesystem - filling up C:\Documents won't fill up C:\windows or C:| Quote:So if I run a command like:Try: Code: cd / That should give you a summary of each dir (or mount point). From there, you can start to drop down into other directories and re-run the command, narrowing down where large files happen to lie. |