Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Printable Version +- Linux-Noob Forums (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums) +-- Forum: Linux Noob (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: How Do I? (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums/forum-60.html) +--- Thread: Connecting Multiple Hard Drives (/thread-271.html) |
Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Bakshara - 2012-01-23 Thank you for your advice. Here is what I did. Quote:[bakshara@localhost ~]$ su -Password: I looked under /dev. Here is what I did and the response Quote:[root@localhost ~]# sudo mount /dev/disk/by-label /media/LinuxSwitch -t vfat -rw -o umask=0000 Now what do I need to do? Thanks in advance, Bakshara the noob! Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Dungeon-Dave - 2012-01-23 Code: [root@localhost ~]# sudo mount /dev/hdb2 /media/LinuxSwitch -t vfat -rw -o umask=0000 Post the output of the fdisk -l command to show which partitions you have. You're trying to mount a disk slice that doesn't exist. Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Bakshara - 2012-01-23 Inside the Filesystem Properties dialog box it says, in the Basic tab: Type: folder Contents: 176,282 items, totaling 8.3 GB (some contents unreadable) Location: computer:/// Volume: unknown Free space: 98.9 GB Quote:[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l A few things: 1) Which of those would you deduce is LinuxSwitch? 2) “Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table ” is blank space. I can provide more info from Qpart if you would like. 3) This is the directory of LinuxSwitch /dev/disk/by-label/LinuxSwitch. LinuxSwitch has a symbol that looks like a sheet of paper with an “X” on its lower left. Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Bakshara - 2012-01-23 What does this tell you? In the Inside the LinuxSwitch Properties dialog box it says: Type: Link to block device Size: 0 bytes (0 bytes) Location: /dev/disk/by-label Volume: unknown Link target: ../../sdb1 MIME type: inode/blockdevice Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Dungeon-Dave - 2012-01-23 Code: /dev/sda1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux Those are two linux partitions, one of which is an LVM. Code: /dev/sdb1 * 1 77825 625129281 7 HPFS/NTFS That looks like an NTFS partition, so could be the one you want. Code: /dev/sdc1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux Another LVM. The only non-LVM slice you have is /dev/sdb1, but you may want to omit the "-t fat" option since it isn't a FAT filesystem. Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Bakshara - 2012-01-24 When I double click on Computer the Computer dialog lists: /boot is, of course, Linux boot-strap. LinuxSwitch. (correction-not FAT32) is my NTFS data storage for games, utilities, and whatever else. <What ever is in my DVD drive, in this case DragonAge>. Filesystem is the Linux data. As for "/dev/sdb1 * 1 77825 625129281 7 HPFS/NTFS" that is what used to be windoze Hexp64 and is now going to be windoze severn. Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Bakshara - 2012-01-25 How do I mount LinuxSwitch? Here is what I tried: [root@localhost media]# eval LinuxSwitch -bash: LinuxSwitch: command not found [root@localhost media]# dir DragonAge fstab fstab~ LinuxSwitch [root@localhost media]# cd /LinuxSwitch -bash: cd: /LinuxSwitch: No such file or directory [root@localhost media]# cd .. [root@localhost /]# cd /mnt [root@localhost mnt]# dir LinuxSwitch ntfs [root@localhost mnt]# cd /LinuxSwitch -bash: cd: /LinuxSwitch: No such file or directory [root@localhost mnt]# cd /ntfs -bash: cd: /ntfs: No such file or directory [root@localhost mnt]# Why is it that when I enter the dir command and I use one of those that was listed and it responds, “No such file or directory ?” Thanks in advance, Bakshara the Linux noob! Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Dungeon-Dave - 2012-01-25 Quote:How do I mount LinuxSwitch?LinuxSwitch is a mount point you've created. What disk slice you want to mount on it? Quote:Here is what I tried:[root@localhost media]# eval LinuxSwitchThat's because you're trying to run "LinuxSwitch" as a command, but that command doesn't exist. Quote:[root@localhost media]# dirDragonAge fstab fstab~ LinuxSwitchThat's because you're in the /media directory, and LinuxSwitch is in a directory below, but you're trying to change into the /LinuxSwitch directory (not /media/LinuxSwitch directory), and /LinuxSwitch doesn't exist. Quote:[root@localhost media]# cd .. Again, same issue. Some of these directories live below /mnt, but you're treating them as though they live under / (root). (I think you've read someone else's guide and your confusion stems from trying to follow their guide but asking for help on it here - I can't visit your link, the page seems full of flash files and keeps spawning pop-ups) What is it you're trying to do? Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Bakshara - 2012-01-25 Dungeon-Dave, A few things. I created a new fstab under /mnt. How do delete the fstab under /mdia? When I tried it responded, “Error while deleting. There was an error deleting fstab. When I click on Show more details, it says, 'Error removing file: Permission denied'” How do I delete this one? LinuxSwitch is what I named that partition under windoze. I created a parallel mount point under Linux. When I tried all three of these: sudo mount /dev/sdc /mnt/LinuxSwitch ntfs-3g users,owner,rw,umask=0000 0 0 sudo mount /dev/dm-0 /mnt/LinuxSwitch ntfs-3g users,owner,rw,umask=0000 0 0 sudo mount /dev/dm-1 /mnt/LinuxSwitch ntfs-3g users,owner,rw,umask=0000 0 0 It gave me a huge message each time, “Usage: mount -V : print version ... A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom, or by label, using -L label or by uuid, using -U uuid . Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd]. For many more details, say man 8 mount . ” One of the many reasons I want to mount LinuxSwitch is I just installed Thunderbird and my email data files are located on that partition. Thank you for your patience and understanding! Bakshara Connecting Multiple Hard Drives - Dungeon-Dave - 2012-01-25 Quote: Dungeon-Dave,Im not sure what you mean by this. Did you create a new file called "fstab" in the /mnt directory? Quote:LinuxSwitch is what I named that partition under windoze.Okay, but that still doesn't answer my question. Do you want to mount a Windows partition in Lunux under the directory you just created (/media/LinuxSwitch)...? |