Thank you for your advice. Here is what I did.
Quote:[bakshara@localhost ~]$ su -Password:
[root@localhost ~]# mkdir /media/LinuxSwitch
[root@localhost ~]# sudo mount /dev/hdb2 /media/LinuxSwitch -t vfat -rw -o umask=0000
mount: special device /dev/hdb2 does not exist
[root@localhost ~]# sudo mount /dev/hdb2 /LinuxSwitch -t vfat -rw -o umask=0000
mount: mount point /LinuxSwitch does not exist
[root@localhost ~]#
I looked under /dev.
Here is what I did and the response
Quote:[root@localhost ~]# sudo mount /dev/disk/by-label /media/LinuxSwitch -t vfat -rw -o umask=0000
mount: /dev/disk/by-label is not a block device
Now what do I need to do?
Thanks in advance,
Bakshara the noob!
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# sudo mount /dev/hdb2 /media/LinuxSwitch -t vfat -rw -o umask=0000
mount: special device /dev/hdb2 does not exist
Post the output of the
fdisk -l command to show which partitions you have. You're trying to mount a disk slice that doesn't exist.
Inside the Filesystem Properties dialog box it says, in the
Basic tab:
Type: folder
Contents: 176,282 items, totaling 8.3 GB
(some contents unreadable)
Location: computer:///
Volume: unknown
Free space: 98.9 GB
Quote:[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x702e702e
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 26 14593 117017460 8e Linux LVM
Disk /dev/sdb: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x07c90880
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 77825 625129281 7 HPFS/NTFS
Disk /dev/dm-0: 117.7 GB, 117708947456 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14310 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000
Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table
Disk /dev/dm-1: 2080 MB, 2080374784 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 252 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x30307800
Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
Disk /dev/sdc: 13.6 GB, 13600677888 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1653 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xeaa7eaa7
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/sdc2 26 1653 13076910 8e Linux LVM
[root@localhost ~]#
A few things:
1) Which of those would you deduce is LinuxSwitch?
2) “Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table
” is blank space. I can provide more info from Qpart if you would like.
3) This is the directory of LinuxSwitch /dev/disk/by-label/LinuxSwitch. LinuxSwitch has a symbol that looks like a sheet of paper with an “X” on its lower left.
What does this tell you?
In the Inside the LinuxSwitch Properties dialog box it says:
Type: Link to block device
Size: 0 bytes (0 bytes)
Location: /dev/disk/by-label
Volume: unknown
Link target: ../../sdb1
MIME type: inode/blockdevice
Code:
/dev/sda1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 26 14593 117017460 8e Linux LVM
Those are two linux partitions, one of which is an LVM.
Code:
/dev/sdb1 * 1 77825 625129281 7 HPFS/NTFS
That looks like an NTFS partition, so could be the one you want.
Code:
/dev/sdc1 * 1 25 200781 83 Linux
/dev/sdc2 26 1653 13076910 8e Linux LVM
Another LVM.
The only non-LVM slice you have is /dev/sdb1, but you may want to omit the "-t fat" option since it isn't a FAT filesystem.
When I double click on Computer the Computer dialog lists:
/boot is, of course, Linux boot-strap.
LinuxSwitch. (correction-not FAT32) is my NTFS data storage for games, utilities, and whatever else.
<What ever is in my DVD drive, in this case DragonAge>.
Filesystem is the Linux data.
As for "/dev/sdb1 * 1 77825 625129281 7 HPFS/NTFS" that is what used to be windoze Hexp64 and is now going to be windoze severn.
How do I mount LinuxSwitch?
Here is what I tried:
[root@localhost media]# eval LinuxSwitch
-bash: LinuxSwitch: command not found
[root@localhost media]# dir
DragonAge fstab fstab~ LinuxSwitch
[root@localhost media]# cd /LinuxSwitch
-bash: cd: /LinuxSwitch: No such file or directory
[root@localhost media]# cd ..
[root@localhost /]# cd /mnt
[root@localhost mnt]# dir
LinuxSwitch ntfs
[root@localhost mnt]# cd /LinuxSwitch
-bash: cd: /LinuxSwitch: No such file or directory
[root@localhost mnt]# cd /ntfs
-bash: cd: /ntfs: No such file or directory
[root@localhost mnt]#
Why is it that when I enter the dir command and I use one of those that was listed and it responds, “No such file or directory ?”
Thanks in advance,
Bakshara the Linux noob!
Quote:How do I mount LinuxSwitch?
LinuxSwitch is a mount
point you've created. What disk slice you want to mount on it?
Quote:Here is what I tried:[root@localhost media]# eval LinuxSwitch
-bash: LinuxSwitch: command not found
That's because you're trying to run "LinuxSwitch" as a command, but that command doesn't exist.
Quote:[root@localhost media]# dirDragonAge fstab fstab~ LinuxSwitch
[root@localhost media]# cd /LinuxSwitch
-bash: cd: /LinuxSwitch: No such file or directory
That's because you're in the /media directory, and LinuxSwitch is in a directory below, but you're trying to change into the /LinuxSwitch directory (not /media/LinuxSwitch directory), and /LinuxSwitch doesn't exist.
Quote:[root@localhost media]# cd ..
[root@localhost /]# cd /mnt
[root@localhost mnt]# dir
LinuxSwitch ntfs
[root@localhost mnt]# cd /LinuxSwitch
-bash: cd: /LinuxSwitch: No such file or directory
[root@localhost mnt]# cd /ntfs
-bash: cd: /ntfs: No such file or directory
[root@localhost mnt]#
Why is it that when I enter the dir command and I use one of those that was listed and it responds, “No such file or directory ?”
Again, same issue. Some of these directories live below /mnt, but you're treating them as though they live under / (root).
(I think you've read someone else's guide and your confusion stems from trying to follow their guide but asking for help on it here - I can't visit your link, the page seems full of flash files and keeps spawning pop-ups)
What is it you're trying to do?
Dungeon-Dave,
A few things.
I created a new fstab under /mnt. How do delete the fstab under /mdia? When I tried it responded, “Error while deleting. There was an error deleting fstab. When I click on Show more details, it says, 'Error removing file: Permission denied'” How do I delete this one?
LinuxSwitch is what I named that partition under windoze. I created a parallel mount point under Linux.
When I tried all three of these:
sudo mount /dev/sdc /mnt/LinuxSwitch ntfs-3g users,owner,rw,umask=0000 0 0
sudo mount /dev/dm-0 /mnt/LinuxSwitch ntfs-3g users,owner,rw,umask=0000 0 0
sudo mount /dev/dm-1 /mnt/LinuxSwitch ntfs-3g users,owner,rw,umask=0000 0 0
It gave me a huge message each time,
“Usage: mount -V : print version
...
A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
or by label, using -L label or by uuid, using -U uuid .
Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd].
For many more details, say man 8 mount . ”
One of the many reasons I want to mount LinuxSwitch is I just installed Thunderbird and my email data files are located on that partition.
Thank you for your patience and understanding!
Bakshara
Quote: Dungeon-Dave,
A few things.
I created a new fstab under /mnt. How do delete the fstab under /mdia?
Im not sure what you mean by this. Did you create a new file called "fstab" in the /mnt directory?
Quote:LinuxSwitch is what I named that partition under windoze.
....
One of the many reasons I want to mount LinuxSwitch is I just installed Thunderbird and my email data files are located on that partition.
Thank you for your patience and understanding!
Bakshara
Okay, but that still doesn't answer my question. Do you want to mount a Windows partition in Lunux under the directory you just created (/media/LinuxSwitch)...?