2005-11-16, 11:27 PM
2005-11-17, 03:22 AM
what distro?
2005-11-17, 10:07 PM
Quote:how do i change the name of my computer so that it doesn't read localhost in the command line?thanks,
rich
login as root
Code:
su -
edit the hosts file
Code:
vi /etc/hosts
do not change the line listed as 127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
but add a line which is as follows:-
Code:
192.168.0.123 myhostname
where 192.168.0.123is your ip address
save the file
Code:
:wq
that should do it
i hope !
2005-11-17, 11:29 PM
Ok first up.. where I use "vi", replace that with the editor that you are comfortable with for instance "gedit" is quite easy to use. Also all of this should be done as "root"...
Become root:
Code:
su -
For a temporary change (until next reboot)
Code:
# hostname my.site.com
For perm changes:
ALL the SYSTEMS! (use your IP.. it might not be what I put here)
Code:
# vi /etc/hosts
192.168.1.1 my.site.com my
Gentoo
Code:
# vi /etc/conf.d/hostname
HOSTNAME="my"
# vi /etc/conf.d/domainname
DNSDOMAIN="site.com"
Redhat (I assume Fedora therefore)
Code:
# vi /etc/sysconfig/network
HOSTNAME=my.site.com
Slackware
Code:
vi /etc/HOSTNAME
myhostname.example.com
I wish they were all just one line :)
2005-11-19, 04:54 AM
WOWWW! thanks. i got that done. i'm using ubuntu and i can connect to some websites but other, yahoo, google, etc always get hung up. i think it's a firewall thing but i don't know the name of my firewall, ubuntu asked if i wanted it enabled and i said yes, or how to gain access to it. any ideas.
thanks,
rich