2007-05-02, 09:47 AM
Day 1.
Backing up my data, and getting Ubuntu downloaded and installed
I started by first backing up my home directory (/home/anyweb) data in FCR6 to an external hdd, once done I scp'd my bookmarks.html (from firefox) via a terminal to my webserver. Next I proceeded to download the Ubuntu iso CD itself, that was easy just head over to Ubuntu's website and decide on the version you want, I chose the Desktop Edition (Ubuntu 7.04 - Supported to 2008) Standard personal computer (x86 architecture, PentiumTM, CeleronTM, AthlonTM, SempronTM).
I burned the ISO, labelled the cd and shutdown my FCR6 laptop and removed the hdd for later use. I inserted an old Windows 98 hdd (30gb) and started booting from the Ubuntu cd, I chose the first option which appeared after some moments, which was to 'Start or Install Ubuntu'.
It chugged away for a few minutes and presented me with a Ubuntu desktop, and from there, I chose to 'install to hdd' option which was 7 or so easy steps to go through.
After about 30 minutes of file copying it said it was done and asked me to restart now, or continue using the live CD. I was ready to continue so I chose to restart.
Please note that if you had configured Gaim or another application prior to this restart then those changes will need to be done again, as I found out. The first thing that you notice after installing to hdd, is that it boots much faster than from the live cd, and that there are software updates available for download.
Wireless issues.
After the restart I was connected to the internet via a WIRED connection, as the live cd install didn't load firmware for my wireless network card (what a surprise). The wireless network card is a Broadcom ( Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)) which is a pretty standard wireless card. So my first job was to get wireless working, to do that I clicked on 'system, administration and then 'network''. I selected to remove the tick from within 'Enable roaming mode' and input the wireless AP's ESSID and WEP key, but still no network connection and ifconfig doesnt even report a wireless device.
Quote:root@anyweb-laptop:~# ifconfigeth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0B:DB:5B:25:48
inet addr:192.168.0.196 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20b:dbff:fe5b:2548/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:38 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:29737 (29.0 KiB) TX bytes:3799 (3.7 KiB)
Interrupt:11
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:400 (400.0 B) TX bytes:400 (400.0 B)
It seems that I have to start googling (or check Ubuntu's wireless troubleshooter docs) to find the solution to this problem, and no doubt it'll be ndiswrapper to the rescue, strange though as I was under the impression that Ubuntu was designed to stop linux noobs from having to go through this type of hassle.
Configuring Ndiswrapper
As I'm new to Ubuntu (but not new to linux), It seems that I have to first enable the universe Going there advised me to open the Synaptic Package Manager tool (gui front end for apt), unfortunately I didn't get very far as point 3 refers to
"In the new dialog that opens, click the Add button on the right side of the dialog." however no such dialog appears. (see screenshot below). It did turn out that 'community-maintained open source software' was already selected, so on with the next step.
Next I closed the Synaptic Package Manager (otherwise you'll get this error in the next stage)
Quote:root@anyweb-laptop:~# apt-get install bcm43xx-fwcutterE: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)and then I
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?
downloaded this file and proceeded to
Code:
root@anyweb-laptop:~# apt-get install bcm43xx-fwcutter
That will prompt you 'yes/no' to install the firmware, so obviously answer yes if you want to get wireless to work.
Next this is where the whole linux and windows users must be getting confused,
Time to patch the firmware so do this
Code:
anyweb@anyweb-laptop:~$ sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware ~/Desktop/wl_apsta.o
And of it goes....done yet ? no. Next we have to do this...
Code:
anyweb@anyweb-laptop:~$ sudo bcm43xx-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/`uname -r` ~/Desktop/wl_apsta.o
Nearly there, it tells me I need to bookmark this link and then reboot, ok I'll do that. After the reboot everything looked the same and I was still wired, I removed the wired connection and issued
Code:
anyweb@anyweb-laptop:~$ modprobe bcm43xx
followed by disabling the Wired connection in Network manager. Now ifconfig shows me eth1 (the wireless nic) and I can ping wirelessly, it worked ! *phew*.
Quote:anyweb@anyweb-laptop:~$ ifconfigeth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0B:DB:5B:25:48
inet6 addr: fe80::20b:dbff:fe5b:2548/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:648 (648.0 B) TX bytes:492 (492.0 B)
Interrupt:11
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:90:4B:B2:2B:83
inet addr:192.168.0.195 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::290:4bff:feb2:2b83/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4346 errors:0 dropped:353 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3135 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5633395 (5.3 MiB) TX bytes:489322 (477.8 KiB)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0x4000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:300 (300.0 B) TX bytes:300 (300.0 B)
anyweb@anyweb-laptop:~$ ping www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (209.85.135.104) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from mu-in-f104.google.com (209.85.135.104): icmp_seq=1 ttl=242 time=35.2 ms
Installing and Configuring the desktop
Meanwhile I let Ubuntu's update manager apply 11 or so updates in the background and proceeded to install xchat via apt-get. To do this I had to be root, and to become root in Ubuntu do as follows:-
Code:
anyweb@anyweb-laptop:~$ sudo -i
that prompts you for your current passsword (the one you set when installing the system) and then you are logged on as root.
As I was already familiar with apt-get from earlier fedora days (back when yum was in infancy) I issued the following:-
Code:
root@anyweb-laptop:~# apt-get install xchat
after some moments, it got the package(s) and installed it.
Quote:Reading package lists... DoneBuilding dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
tcl8.4 xchat-common
Suggested packages:
tclreadline libnet-google-perl
The following NEW packages will be installed:
tcl8.4 xchat xchat-common
0 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 2354kB of archives.
After unpacking 6693kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
Get:1 [/url]http://se.archive.ubuntu.com feisty/main tcl8.4 8.4.14-0ubuntu1 [1163kB]
Get:2 http://se.archive.ubuntu.com feisty/universe xchat-common 2.8.0-0ubuntu4 [888kB]
Get:3 [url=http://se.archive.ubuntu.com]http://se.archive.ubuntu.com feisty/universe xchat 2.8.0-0ubuntu4 [303kB]
Fetched 2354kB in 2s (1169kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package tcl8.4.
(Reading database ... 88008 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking tcl8.4 (from .../tcl8.4_8.4.14-0ubuntu1_i386.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package xchat-common.
Unpacking xchat-common (from .../xchat-common_2.8.0-0ubuntu4_all.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package xchat.
Unpacking xchat (from .../xchat_2.8.0-0ubuntu4_i386.deb) ...
Setting up tcl8.4 (8.4.14-0ubuntu1) ...
Setting up xchat-common (2.8.0-0ubuntu4) ...
Setting up xchat (2.8.0-0ubuntu4) ...
Why did i do the above ? because xchat wasn't installed by default. Ok once done I was on IRC. Please note noobs, that if you don't like using the cli (command line interface, or terminal) then you can click on 'Applications, add/remove' to start the package manger gui.)
Next up, I configured Gaim (not renamed to Pidgin yet ?) to use my msn and gmail accounts respectively. Once done, time to copy back the data I copied to the external hdd, I plugged it in, Ubuntu found it, I selected the windows 98 file system I had copied to (fat32) and copied back all my data from the Fedora Core install. Interestingly, Ubuntu also showed the two other partitions on that hdd, which were NTFS, Fedora didn't mount them at all as no NTFS plugin was installed.
Configuring Firefox
Next up, I wanted to configure firefox to be able to play all the usual stuff, flash, java, media, and so on, I don't yet know if it's pre-configured but i'll soon find out.
I go to shockwave's home and straight away I'm prompted to 'click here to install plugin' so obviously Adobe Flash Player is not pre-installed, I accept the license agreement and off it goes. Done. I then head over to bbc.co.uk/news and click on a video to see what happens, it prompts for what type of viewer I will use, i choose realplayer (as it's already selected) and then click ok. It says plugin requied, and 'not available'. So I change it to 'windows viewer' and this time it starts up a media player (Totem browser plugin) but abrubptly stops.
At this point I'm beginning to wonder why all the fuss about Ubuntu is there, I mean, I've had to configure the wireless using ndiswrapper, and I have to install plugins in firefox and now I cannot view online content, wasn't Ubuntu supposed to be taking care of all this unecessary hassle ?
Quote:<webany> i guess i was under the impression that ubuntu had ndiswrapper installed and preconfigured, and that it installed all the plugins/codecs.<webany> how wrong i was